James D. Atterholt, Board of Directors


Chairman Jim Atterholt was appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels on June 22, 2009, to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission. Prior to joining the Commission, he was the State Insurance Commissioner for more than four years where he also served as a member of the Governor’s Cabinet. Atterholt worked as Director of Government Affairs for AT&T–Indiana from 2003 – 2004.

Chairman Atterholt has dedicated much of his life to public service. He was elected and served two terms as a member of the Indiana General Assembly from 1998 – 2002. As a State Representative he served on the House Commerce, Economic Development and Technology Committee, which has jurisdiction over all utility-related legislation. Atterholt also served on the Environmental Affairs Committee as well as the Labor Committee. Atterholt has also worked as Chief of Staff in Washington D.C. and later as District Director in Indiana for a member of the United States Congress where his responsibilities included energy issues.

A native of Fort Wayne, Indiana, Chairman Atterholt received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin in 1986. Atterholt is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) where he serves on the Committee on Gas. He also serves on the Board of Directors of the Saint Florian Center for at-risk-children. Married for 22 years to his wife, Brenda, they are blessed with three children and currently reside in Indianapolis.